I’ve got you under my skin

kingfish-cartoccio

I’ve got you under my skin
I’ve got you deep in the heart of me
So deep in my heart, that you’re really a part of me
I’ve got you under my skin

Or, in this case… I’ve got you under my scales.

Eh yes, when I prepared the fish and also when I saw this picture, this song came on my mind because of the herbs that I put into the open belly of the fish and the vegetables all around it. The result is a complete blend of flavours with the fish’s meat, fresh parsley, scallion, and onion, and a new “vestiture” for this kingfish with the vegetables all around.

(For two people)
2 whole fish cleaned and scaled (I used kingfish, very tasty)
2 white young onions and 1 scallion, cut into thin circles
2 medium sized potatoes, sliced thin
chopped mixed vegetables (I used red bell pepper and flowers broccoli)
1/2  lemon, sliced (optional)
2  tablespoons chopped fresh parsley
4  tbsp extra-virgin olive oil
1 tbsp dry white wine
salt, pepper
Parchment paper

Cut two large pieces of parchment paper, enough to completely wrap the fish for its length. Salt and pepper the interior and exterior of the fish and put in the open belly few circles of onion and scallion, and some of the parsley. Place a thin layer of potatoes slices in the center of each parchment piece (give it roughly the shape of the fish), and place each fish on each potatoes’ layer. Cover the fish with the vegetables and the rest of the onion and scallion. Sprinkle with salt and pepper, drizzle with white wine and olive oil.

Cut two smaller pieces of parchment paper and cover the fish slightly folding the upper parchment beneath the fish. At this point wrap the outer parchment in a shape of a “candy”, wrapping the ends tight and slightly rolling them up (like in the picture below). You can also tie the ends with strings.

pesce-cartoccio01

Place on a large baking pan and bake at 380° for about 25 minutes. When ready, carefully remove the upper paper allowing steam to escape, and tear paper open. Serve with a dry white wine.

pesce-cartoccio02

Tip: If you use a fish rich of bones (like the kingfish), once you open the parchment, gently move the vegetables on the side or on a small plate, and proceed to clean the fish opening it in two halves and starting removing the central fishbone, then continue along the sides.

Leave a Reply

